Life of a bookworm – Diary of an Oxygen Thief

Dear all,

I thought, as the bookworm I am, I should also document the books I have read alongside other blog going ons like pole, films, make up, uni, work etc.

I’ve basically ended up with an accumulation of books which I haven’t read yet and no space for any more. Give me beauty and the beasts library any day!

Anyway, the book I chose today and finished today was The Diary of an Oxygen Thief. First impressions were, this sounds morbid and clearly this human doesn’t wish to be identified as the author is anonymous. I’ll be honest, I thought it was going to be one of those books that I started and got bored with or lost interest in but felt I needed to finish it anyway.

Pleasantly, I was surprised. Although this was originally published in 2006, it seems to be more elegant to today’s age of relationships. It acts as an autobiography for an anonymous Irish male, living in America. He begins by describing the pleasure he got out of hurting women emotionally – by pretending to love them and care for them and ending it cruelly. Soon after attending Alcoholics Anonymous (AA) meetings he sobers up and reflects on his past with remorse. He later moves to New York where, alongside a culture shock, he meets a young female photographer who he completely and utterly falls in live with only for this to backfire and he’s given a dose of his own medicine. Yeah Karma’s a bitch…

I believe that the oxygen thief described in the title is a reference to his low self-esteem and self loathing and how he and most readers will feel he isn’t worthy of the air he breathes…

It’s a marvellous little book. Not very long and took me about 2-3 hours to read it stopping and starting. Would definitely recommend, although I would stress that it isn’t for all readers out there but if you’re looking for a new book or something different this is the one to go too. 

Until next time,
Happy reading! 

D x

Leave a Reply

